Return to Headlines

One team to be inducted into the Jordan Public Schools Hall of Fame on September 29, 2023

Immediate Release 07/21/23

The Jordan High School (JHS) 1983 Hubmen Football Team to be inducted into the Jordan Public Schools Hall of Fame on September 29, 2023, nearly 40 years after the conclusion of their championship season. 

Jordan Public Schools will host a Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Friday, September 29, 2023, at 5:00pm in the JHS Auditorium. Being honored in this ceremony will be one team with lifetime accomplishments in athletics and contributions to Jordan Public Schools. 

Inductees will include: 

  • 1983 Hubmen Football Team

On November 19, 1983, the Jordan Hubmen football team became the Minnesota State ‘Class B’ football champions at the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome. They were the first and only (to date) football team in Jordan Public Schools history to be named State Champions. In the 1983 season, the Hubmen held a 9-1 season record, and set a state record for zero points against them in four playoff games. 

  • Athletes: Dave Affolter, Mike Allar, Jim Arkins, Jamie Busch, Darrin Bahr, Mark Duffy, Pete Dymit (All Conference), Bruce Fahrenkamp, Gary Fahrenkamp, Steve Glynn, Dave Hoy, Todd Hutchinson, Tony Juaire, Jeff Kes, Lee Kes (All Conference), Mike Krzmarcik, Paul Lambrecht, Jerry Mach, John McFarland (All Conference), Steve Menke (All Conference), Dave Meyer, Mickey Meyer, Paul Morgenson, Chris Morris, Marty Oldenburg, Steve Radermacher, Chad Sandey, Mark Seifert, Pete Seifert, Dennis Simpson, Dan Smith, Keith Telthoester, Chris Thaves, Dave Thieschafer (All Conference Honorable Mention), Jim Volek, Gary Wark (All Conference Honorable Mention), John Whipps (posthumous, All Conference), Bruce Wolf, Steve Wolf
  • Managers: Eugene Hein, Ben Hedstrom
  • Coaches: Jim Trapp (Head Coach and 2021 Hall of Fame Inductee), Dave Brostrom, Lee Rebstock, Tom Sand (posthumous)
  • Athletic Director: Ken Hanson (2019 Hall of Fame Inductee)

When asked about the accomplishments of the 1983 football team, Coach Jim Trapp said, “The 1983 Hubmen football team is the best team in Jordan football history. They earned their way into the state playoffs with a 9-1 regular season record. Once in the playoffs they won four straight playoff games by a combined score of 86 to 0. They finished off the championship season with a 27-0 win in the Prep Bowl over a very good Breckinridge team. In doing so they set a state record of not allowing a single point in four playoff games. The 1983 team remains the only Jordan football team to win a state championship.”

The induction ceremony will be open to the public. Following the induction ceremony, the Hall of Fame inductees will be honored at halftime of the Homecoming football game at Ames Field. 


Date: September 29, 2023
Time: 5:00pm
Location: JHS Auditorium
600 Sunset Blvd., Jordan, MN 55352